Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Teaching and Learning in the EYFS


A focus on learning through play underpins the EYFS. The EYFS principles guide the work of all practitioners, there are four themes:

  •  a unique child
  • positive relationships
  • enabling environments
  • learning and development

 Learning and Development is further categorised into Prime and Specific areas of learning:


There are 3 prime areas:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

There are 4 specific areas through which the 3 prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  •  Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design